Exercise 4.5 – Project proposal for A5

For this exercise we are asked to write a project proposal for the self-directed project (Assignment 5) of no more that 500 words.

Project Brief

For this project I intend to make use of the 2000+ images I have collected in support of the Transitions assignment (A6). While I already have my concept and images for A6 organised, there are many other stories that can be told about the area and my plan is to contrast 2-3 different aspects in terms of the wider geographical and political constraints within which it sits.For example I am interested in how COVID has affected it and how the area is/has been used for activities unrelated to the building work, and also how the land is used during the construction period.

Research and influences

I will be explore some aspects of psychogeography, the meaning of edgelands and the picturesque and the effect of human intervention on the natural environment. In particular I want to examine the strange feeling of Otherness that I get when I look at my collection of images for the location and which I similarly felt about my Assignment 3 work on local World War 2 sites that have now disappeared.

Likely treatment/Potential outcome

My intention is to produce a handmade dos-a-dos (back to back) book with the two stories being physically connected by the book binding but separate from each other. There is no specific budget as I have all the materials to hand, although am of course aware that for a completely new project, the individual costs of materials and time would have to be included in the overall costing.

Estimated schedule

With my time allowance running out at the end of July, it is my intention to complete this assignment by the end of June 2021.

1 thought on “Exercise 4.5 – Project proposal for A5

  1. Pingback: Assignment 5 – Reflection and self evaluation | Landscape, Place & Environment

Leave a comment